In Search of the Perfect Banana Bread – Part 3

There has been quite a bit of de-cluttering, clearing and reorganizing going on in our house over the last month or so. Guess what I came across?? My mom’s banana cake recipe!! Needless to say, I was over the moon! And it just so happened that I had some pretty ripe bananas in my fruit bowl.

One of the main differences between my mom’s recipe and most of the others I came across and tried, was the amount of baking powder it called for. I watched it rising way over the top of the bread pan as it was baking. It was a beautiful sight!

I share her recipe with you today. I hope you like it!

You will need:

3 large or 4 medium ripe bananas
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs, slightly beaten
2 cups of flour
3/4  cup white sugar
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2  Tbsp baking soda

chopped walnuts (optional)

Mash the bananas with a fork and set aside.
Sift dry ingredients together in a large bowl
In another bowl, blend oil and eggs until well combined. Add bananas and mix well.
Slowly add dry ingredients into the wet ones and just mix until incorporated. Pour into a well-greased and floured bread pan.

Bake in 350 degree Fahrenheit oven for 50-60 minutes.

16409664_10211047590482003_324806041_o-1

Cool in pan before turning it over onto a cooling rack. Slice and enjoy 🙂

16409908_10211048155536129_518787935_o

I made mine in a bread pan but mom baked hers in a 9″x 9″ square cake pan for 35-45 minutes and cut it into squares.

I think I can honestly say that my quest for the perfect banana bread has come to an end. In my opinion, my mom’s recipe is a pretty delicious one! I hope you like it, too 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “In Search of the Perfect Banana Bread – Part 3

Leave a Reply

