In Search of the Perfect Banana Bread – Part 2

Yesterday, I was about to compost 3 over-ripe bananas that were still sitting in my fruit bowl when I was inspired to try yet another banana bread recipe. After looking at a few recipes online, I gathered together some ingredients and went at it! You probably already know I don’t like baking so when I get the urge, I listen to it. I mashed the bananas, put the dry ingredients in a bowl, the wet ones in another, mixed and poured the whole thing into my loaf pan. Hmmm, I thought, this looks a little dense but, I don’t know how to make a perfect banana loaf so I put it in the oven to bake and crossed my fingers.

I proceeded to wash the bowls and clean up the counter when I noticed a bowl of lightly beaten eggs! Yup! I forgot to add the eggs to the mixture. Did this surprise me? Not one bit!  At this point it was too late to try to incorporate the eggs in as it was already baking. So I waited, checked on it a few times and after 50 minutes I did the knife test on it. It came out dry. I took it out of the oven and let it cool. I was shocked to see that it actually looked good, smelled wonderful and I couldn’t wait to cut into it.

banana-bread
Egg-less Banana Bread

It was light, it cut beautifully but the texture was a bit on the spongy side. The taste was acceptable… I had tweaked the recipe a little, added a bit of sour cream as well as honey to it, but I am pretty sure the eggs would have made a big difference.

So, as soon as I have some ripe bananas, I will try this recipe again. Who knows, it might be the one! If I don’t forget the eggs again!! Or maybe I will replace the eggs with applesauce? Then it would be egg-less on purpose 😉

 

Once you have mastered a technique, you hardly need look at a recipe again and can take off on your own.
-Julia Child

2 thoughts on “In Search of the Perfect Banana Bread – Part 2

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

