#FoodFocus – Super Salmon

I have been a little obsessed with salmon lately…It being such an incredibly healthy brain food, I have been wanting to feature it since the beginning of this journey.

It’s well known today that salmon and other oily fish are amazing sources of Omega-3 fatty acids. I just learned that our bodies don’t make Omega-3’s (Ruder, na) so we have to get them from the foods we eat. They are important for our neurological development and heart health. Omega-3’s reduce inflammation, boost immunity and may also reduce the risk of some cancers. They may also improve arthritis symptoms!

Salmon is also high in protein, vitamins and minerals including B-complex vitamins, selenium, phosphorus, and potassium. Canned salmon with bones is high in calcium as well but has a much higher sodium content than fresh.

What has been holding me back on featuring this amazing food is the cost of fresh salmon. I don’t buy it very often for budgetary reasons. However, one of my local grocery stores had it on sale last week and since I was craving fish, I picked it up.

Now this was a whole fillet, skin on and fresh. Beautiful colour. Just a gorgeous piece of fish. The only way I ever prepared fish was oven broiled or poached. That wasn’t going to happen with this salmon!! I also bought a cedar plank at the grocery store. This was going to be fun!

salmon-lemon

Let me also say that I was able to cut 4 large portions PLUS the tail end from that fillet I purchased for about $12. The dishes I prepared required very few ingredients, most of which we all have in our fridge.

So let’s get started and create some nutritious and delicious salmon dishes together!

Recipes
Cedar Planked Salmon

 

Works Cited:

Ingredient 911: Incredible Salmon. (na). Retrieved from The Foodie Physician: http://www.thefoodiephysician.com/search?q=salmon

Leave a Reply

