#FoodFocus – Chicken Curry Soup

I hope you are all having a wonderful weekend so far!

You know, the idea for this website/blog came about when I realized that some students living away from home were not eating properly due to lack of time, meal preparation knowledge or small food budget. This did not sit right with me.  So, the recipes featured here are nutritious, budget conscious and, for the most part, very quick to prepare. Some, like the one on this page, will take a little ‘simmering time’ but, with a little planning it can be prepared ahead of time, portioned and stored. The flavours just get more intense anyway!

This is the end of July and the fresh local produce available now is so affordable. Besides, the body does better when it is fed seasonal foods, or so I’ve heard. Makes sense to me. So, I went for my weekly grocery shopping and came back with all kinds of awesome fruits and veggies!

As part of the grocery shopping routine, my fridge gets cleaned out of leftovers, expired stuff thrown out and ready for fresh produce to find a spot in it. In my freezer, I found a leftover BBQ’d chicken leg from a couple of weekends ago. I was initially thinking about making a vegetable minestrone and throwing in some chicken pieces to use it up but then… Why not make a curry chicken soup of some kind?  I didn’t even know if this was a thing but that’s why I love to cook. Anything goes, as long as it tastes awesome! I had apples, sweet potatoes, zucchini from my garden, Jamaican curry powder and a soup pot! Plus I had just bought some baby bok choy and gorgeous red bell peppers!

So here’s the recipe. I would love to hear your feedback about it. Enjoy!

 

bok choy celery onion red bell pepper mushrooms
Red bell pepper, bok choy, zucchini, mushroom, onion, celery

Ingredients

1/4 cup diced onion
1 celery rib, diced
1 small red bell pepper, diced
3 large white or brown mushrooms, sliced
chicken leg meat pieces (or white meat)
3 baby bok choy, washed and  leaves separated
1 golden delicious apple, peeled and cubed
1 cup cubed sweet potato
1 cup cubed zucchini
1 tbsp soy sauce
Jamaican curry powder (or your favourite curry seasoning)
salt and pepper to taste
4 cups water

In a soup pot, add about 2 tbsp of olive oil. Sauté the onion, celery, pepper and mushrooms for a few minutes. Season with salt, pepper and curry powder. Then toss in the chicken, bok choy, apple, sweet potato and zucchini. Stir and cook for a few minutes. Add the soy sauce, more curry powder, and adjust the salt and pepper and stir again.

sauteed chicken curry and veg

Add the water (it should more than cover the veggies). Put the lid on, simmer for about 1 hour, stirring occasionally.

Check and adjust the seasoning one more time before serving. I even added the leftover 1/2 avocado I had in the fridge!

 

This soup is packed with antioxidants and vitamins and a little protein from the chicken. I would serve it with a slice of multigrain bread for a healthy and satisfying meal!

 

chicken curry soup
Chicken Curry Soup

 

 

Leave a Reply

